Advice needed

This topic contains 17 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  mikki 1 year, 4 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

Hi there, I am new to this but need some unbiased advice outside of my circle.

My husband went home to USA recently for a 6 week holiday (we reside in NZ where we have lived our entire relationship of 18 years).  He has been there for nearly an extra 8 weeks now with no indication of a return date.  We planned the 6 weeks together and thought it was a good length of time.  He promised he would be back in the time we planned and said nothing would keep him away from his family.  We have 2 teenage daughters who are missing their father and I am missing him like crazy as we’d never been apart for more than a few days.  He hadn’t seen his parents in nearly 12 years and I can understand him wanting more time with them.  He has made all sorts of excuses to stay but the main one is that his parents might die (they aren’t sick but are aging).  I gave him about a months space and didn’t bring up his return or how I or the kids were feeling etc but recently I brought it up as we needed to sort this and get some sort of indication and then read him an email of how we were feeling and asked him one final time to come back and he said no.   He got so angry at me after reading my email and things were left messy with us both yelling through the phone.  It is extremly rare for us to argue like that.  I know he won’t talk to me for days – he does this when we’ve fought in the past, won’t even talk to our girls but feel this is the end of our marriage.