Mental Health | Social Media Impact

Female Forum Forums Category Related Discussion Health & Diet Mental Health | Social Media Impact

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  KitKatKitty 5 days, 8 hours ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

I hope you find yourself doing well, and I wish you the best day ever! Thank you for reading!

As a 20 year old female millennial, I felt like this is something I wanted to stress and get off my chest. I am no medical professional, or expert of any kind, but I can speak for myself in stating my opinion on social media and its impact on my mental health.

Social media has slowly but surely messed with my head in all the wrong ways! I am speaking personally, regarding platforms like Instagram. Why on earth, are so many girls and maybe guys, so unhappy with themselves and always trying to change? I do not mean any disrespect to anyone who disagrees with me or has other opinions as I value them and would love to hear the other side too!

As the years have gone by that I was a member on Instagram, the images of girls have been changing. The idea of the “perfect girl”. I find myself RARELY seeing trending photos of girls who seem truly happy with their natural self. Well, it only impacted me to want to be like them as well! Posting pictures where my hair has to look perfect, my makeup needs to be amazing, my clothes need to be in style. Oh geez, look at all the fitness models getting so much attention, maybe I need to start working out to post such pictures.