Personal Training Dilemma

Female Forum Forums Category Related Discussion Health & Diet Personal Training Dilemma

This topic contains 13 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Jayceefit 3 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Hi Folks,

So I have been a part time personal trainer for 5 years now. Until now, I only took on 2-3 clients at any one time because I really like focusing on just a few people at a time.

I’ve decided in recent months that I wanted to start doing more, particularly with online coaching.

I’m quite ambitious and I really want to start doing online group challenges. The plans that I have in mind will include prizes and rewards etc, so for obvious reasons, I need to have a minimum number of people joining the programmes…this in itself requires a large social media standing, a large number of online testimonials (mine were always written, whereas now people prefer to see before/after photos), and a significant amount of money set aside for the prizes and rewards.

So, at the moment, I have been taking on more online clients…and therein lies my problem. A lot of people just don’t want to pay money for plans anymore. They want a quality plan for free or for next to no money…I try to make my plans affordable, but at the end of the day, I could spend 12 solid hours putting together a customised programme for somebody.

My long term aim IS to make make plans affordable by going down the route of creating group plans and challenges, which will allow me to reduce my prices significantly…but for now, it isn’t feasible.

My dilemma:

So in order to make my plans a reality, i have 2 choices…

-Reduce prices and take the hit financially in order to improve my social media following and attract more clients? (There’s always a large risk of non-conforming clients if plans are cheap- that’s another downside! There’s also the risk that people won’t take you seriously if you charge too little)