Separating from husband, I have no idea what I'm doing

Female Forum Forums Category Related Discussion Love & Relationships Separating from husband, I have no idea what I'm doing

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  KitKatKitty 8 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

This topic may have come up before but I’m at work and I can’t search through all of the topics. My husband and I are separating this summer. I work as a teachers aide which means I make nothing LOL. I have two young children. I have never lived on my own and I don’t make enough to support myself. I have no idea where to start. I do not have any family members that I can move in with either.

Everywoman I know that separates from their husband has family members they can move in with or they have a career where they can support themselves. So I’m not hearing from anyone in my circle that is in my shoes. Have any of you gone to this or have you known anyone who has been completely broke and trying to move out on their own with their children?

if you and your spouse remain married but live separate and apart, he still be required to pay child and spousal support. In the separation agreement, the custodial parent would file a motion in court that seeks a decree for child and spousal support and would serve that motion on the noncustodial parent. The judge would set an amount consistent with needs and ability to pay.

You need to get a good lawyer asap. Courts favor female custodians receiving majority allowances of family income and assets distribution not the male noncustodian.

He should be one moving out of the family home not you.

1 member liked this post:

I think most western countries would require him to provide some financial support, more so when divorced, but a lot my depend on where you are. Rabbithabit has it – get some legal advice. It can seem a bit daunting, but you need help, particularly with the children.